The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday temporarily suspended membership of 148 parliamentarians for not submitting their annual income statements, ARY NEWS reports. In a notification issued here today the ECP suspended membership of the lawmakers and barred them from assuming offices until submission of their financial details. The list includes names of Head of the Kashmir Committee and leader of the Jamiat-e-Ulema Islam (F) Maulana Fazl ur Rehman, the firebrand Pakistan Muslim League(Q) member, Kashmala Tariq, PML-Q Khyber Pakhtunkhwa president Amir Muqam, PPP’s Minister for Labour and Manpower Syed Khurshid Shah, Minister of State for Information Samsam Bukhari and other prominent legislators. According to the ECP notification, the 71 suspended lawmakers belong to Punjab Assembly, 16 were from Sindh Assembly, 10 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and 12 from Balochistan Assembly. Four members of the Senate are also mentioned in the ECP list.
By: Ary News