ISLAMABAD: Pakistan People's Party's (PPP) Aitzaz Ahsan, PML-N's Ishaq Dar and Kamran Michael were elected as Senators unopposed, an Election Commission statement said Monday.

No other candidate had submitted nomination papers for the two technocrat seats from Punjab except Aitzaz Ahsan and Ishaq Dar.

Kamran Michael, who had filed his papers for the seat reserved for minorities, was also elected unopposed after his rival contender Shahzad Munshi withdrew papers.