ISLAMABAD: The Senate met Monday morning at its inaugural session of new parliamentary year where 54 Senators-elect took oath with four minority members also reaching the Upper House for the first time in its history.

Senator Afrasiab Khattak who was designated by President Asif Zardari to preside over the session administered the oath.

The opposition in the Senate has decided to not to contest for the posts of Chiarman and Deputy Chairman. It was also decided to nominate Senator Ishaq Dar for the post of Leader of Opposition in the Senate.

After election of the Chairman the Presiding Officer will administer oath to newly elected Chairman. After taking oath, the new Chairman will take the seat and conduct the election for Deputy Chairman and administer him the oath after election.