Earlier, they had become the Asia Cup champions in 2000.

It was looking that Bangladesh, playing the final for the first time in Asia Cup history, would win the title. They played extremely well – first restricting Pakistan to 236-9 in 50 overs with their accurate bowling and alert fielding and then batted with determination to reach very close to the winning target but lost the match just three runs short.

Chasing 237, the hosts needing nine runs in the last over, finished at 234-8 in 50 overs.

Their main scorers were allrounder Shakib Al Hasan (68) and opener Tamim Iqbal (60).
Tamim with Nazimuddin (16) provided a sound start making 68 for the first wicket and later Shakib and Nasir Hossain (28) added valuable 89 runs for the fourth wicket partnership.

For Pakistan, paceman Aizaz Cheema grabbed three wickets while fast bowler Umar Gul and off-spinner Saeed Ajmal each finished with two wickets.

Earlier, Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and invited Pakistan to bat first, who set a moderate target of 237 runs for the hosts.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmed top scored with an unbeaten 46, followed by Mohammad Hafeez (40), Shahid Afridi (32), Umar Akmal (30) and Hammad Azam (30) as no other batsmen could not enter into double figures.