A report about sugar scandal and details of loans sanctioned to the sugar mill owners has been submitted in the Supreme Court (SC). According to the report, renowned politicians were responsible for the sugar crisis in 2006. Appeals filed against the selling of sugar at Rs 40 per kg in the Lahore High Court were heard in the Supreme Court today.

These appeals were registered by Sugar Mills Association along with federal government and provincial governments. Governor State Bank submitted a report about the details of loans taken by sugar mill owners on the directive of the Supreme Court. SBP spokesman told that sugar mill owners were in debt of Rs 21 billion.

Chairman NAB also presented a report of 2006 sugar crisis. It is told in the report that politicians have monopoly on sugar industry and sugar mill owners hoarded the sugar in 2006. According to the report, sugar mill owners include President Asif Ali Zardari, Nawaz Sharif, Shahbaz Sharif, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Jahangir Tareen, Mian Azhar, Anwer Cheema, Nusratullah Dareshak, Haroon Akhtar, Mian Altaf Saleem, Shamim Khan and others. The Supreme Court adjourned the hearing till October 1.