PESHAWAR: Following Punjab, Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is holding intra-party elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province today (Wednesday), SAMAA reports.

According to PTI’s provincial election commissioner Qazi Muhammad Anwar, polling is underway in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on 28 positions. A total of 51 voters will elect their provincial office bearers.

Asad Qaisar, Pervez Khattak and Murad Saeed are vying for the provincial presidency.

Shaukat Ali Yousufzai, Ziaullah Afridi, Zahid Hussain and Shah Farman are in the run for the post of party’s General Secretary.

Meanwhile, PTI Chairman Imran Khan congratulated his party for successfully conducting intra-party elections in Punjab against all odds.

In a message on a social networking site, Khan said: “PML-N has no democratic tradition and resents PTI’s democratic party elections."

“I am so proud of the PTI for upholding the democratic norms in the country.” –