President Asif Ali Zardari has signed 18th Amendment Bill 2010 into law in a ceremony held at the Presidency on Monday. It has officially now become the part of the Constitution.
Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani, cabinet members, PML-N Chief Nawaz Sharif, Chairman Constitutional Reforms Committee of the Parliament Senator Mian Raza Rabbani, Chief Ministers and Governors of the provinces attended the ceremony.
Addressing the ceremony, the President said that 18th Amendment has closed all doors for dictators and amendments made by them have been abolished.
He said, “It was an honour for me to sign 18th amendment bill and all parties have worked above political affiliations.”
President felicitated the nation at this occasion. Earlier Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani in his address said that passage of 18th amendment bill is a historic moment. PM Yousaf Raza Gilani congratulated to all the members of parliament and the entire nation on the occasion of signing of the 18th amendment bill.
Senator and Chairman Parliamentary Committee for Constitutional Reforms Raza Rabbani paid tributes to all the members of the committee for what he said their “political maturity, political sagacity and rising above interest” for making possible the finalization of the 18th amendment.
He also paid tributes to the political leaders, saying without their guidance the Parliamentary Committee could not move ahead with the kind of open mindedness that was required for the uphill task.