The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed the event technical committee of the World Twenty20 has approved replacement players in the Pakistan squad for the tournament, which runs from 30 April to 16 May in the West Indies. “The confirmations were conveyed to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on behalf of the event technical committee,” said an ICC spokesman on Tuesday. Fast bowler Mohammad Sami and spinner Abdur Rehman have replaced pacer Umar Gul and all-rounder Yasir Arafat. “The players were declared unfit by their board. As a result of this, the PCB chose to seek to get them replaced for the entire event,” added the spokesman. Sami 29, has played 34 Tests and 83 ODIs but has yet to make an appearance in a Twenty20 International while Rehman has represented Pakistan in two Tests, 11 ODIs and two T20Is. His last T20I was more than two years ago, against Kenya at Nairobi Gymkhana. Any injury-based replacement requires a written submission to the event technical committee along with a diagnosis from a medical practitioner as to the extent of the injury. Once replaced, a player cannot return to the squad. As with all players in the tournament, the eligibility of a replacement player is subject to approval by the ICC before that player can be officially added to the squad. The event technical committee of the World Twenty20 consists of David Richardson (ICC chairman), Robert Bryan (tournament director), Campbell Jamieson (IDI representative), Tony Howard (WICB representative), Alan Wilkins (independent nomination) and Sanjay Manjrekar (independent nomination). Pakistan open their title defence against Bangladesh in St Lucia on May 1 and then take on world champions Australia the following day at the same venue.
By: ARY News