PESHAWAR: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly’s 123 newly-elected members took oath on Wednesday in inaugural session of the house in Peshawar, SAMAA reported.

The session begun with outgoing Speaker Kiramatullah Chagharmati in chair. He administered the oath to 123 lawmakers.

A number of newly elected members of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, including PTI-nominee for the Chief Minister Pervez Khattak were present at the assembly.

Speaking to the media outside Assembly Hall‚ PTI's nominee for the Speaker Asad Qaisar said that restoration of peace is the biggest challenge and the government will go to every extent in this regard.

Sikandar Sherpao of Qaumi Watan Party said that the coalition government will try its best to come up to the expectations of the people.

He said that restoration of peace will be top priority of the government.

MPA-elect Sirajul Haq of Jamaat-e-Islami said that we have to learn from the defeat of PPPP and ANP.

Sardar Mehtab Abbasi of PML-N said both the government and opposition are faced with a number of challenges. He said that all opposition parties will evolve a joint strategy after taking oath. -- SAMAA