London: Despite numerous interruptions due to rain, India managed to cruise to an eight wicket victory over a rather hapless Pakistan performance in the third group B match.
This is the first time Pakistan has lost a match to India in the Champions trophy tournament.
Rain interruptions had revised the target from 168 in 40 overs to 102 runs from 22 overs. India achieved the target in just 19 overs, thanks largely to the efforts of Shikhar Dhawan who scored 48 runs.
Earlier, rain twice interrupted play in the Champions Trophy group B match between Pakistan and Indian at Edgbaston. A second interruption had revised the target down for India who need to score 102 runs in just 22 overs. Pakistan were shot out for 165 in 39.4 overs after being sent in to bat by India in a rain-hit Champions Trophy match in Edgbaston on Saturday.
Asad Shafiq top-scored with 41 and Umar Amin made 27 not out. Ishant Sharma, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin claimed two wickets each in a match reduced to 40-overs-a-side.
India now have to chase a revised target of 168 runs after rain delays reduced the match to 40 overs a side. Earlier, play resumed in the Champions Trophy group B match between India and Pakistan at Edgbaston on Saturday after a rain delay.
Pakistan, sent in to bat in overcast conditions, were 70-3 from 19 overs when a heavy shower hit Birmingham. Asad Shafiq was on 14 and skipper Misbahul Haq was on five. The match, watched by a packed house of India and Pakistan supporters, has been reduced to 40-overs-a-side, but further bad weather has been forecast.
The match holds only academic interest for the tournament since India have already qualified for the semi-finals and Pakistan are out of the race after losing both their previous games.
India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.
Pakistan: Misbahul Haq (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Umar Amin, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz.
Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Ian Gould (ENG)
TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)
Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)